Posted

print

favorite this post $520 Awesome Roommate Wanted for Co-op Style House hide this posting unhide

12

house
laundry on site
no smoking
no private bath
private room

We're looking for 1 new roommate for a big shared house in central Austin. It could be you! ☺
We are looking for one adult in the 25-40 age range.

Unless you've got pets. Human roommates only, please.

The situation:

Big house, small co-op. We've got six rooms, and we'd like to fill them with friendly, creative, community-oriented people. We want everybody who lives here to feel like a part of our little house community, with input into the house and control over their own living space. And we'd like to share projects and activities. Plant stuff in our garden, art up the place, host parties or performances, etc.

The House:

The house is huge, built in 2011. It's got 6 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. Hardwood floors downstairs and carpet upstairs. We have high ceilings, lots of windows; natural light, and 2 living areas. We've got central air and heating, laundry machines, and a giant kitchen. We're in walking distance to Tyson's Tacos, Komé, Ms. Johnson's Donuts, East Side Pies, Flightpath Coffee, ColdTowne Theater and more. We're biking distance from H.E.B., Quack's, Epoch, Mother's, Juiceland, Galaxy Highland and AFS movie theaters and more. We're near the 7 and 10 buses.

We've also got a vegetable garden, an herb garden, and a big blackberry patch. There's not a whole lot of yard, but we make the most of it.

Your room:

We've got one room open right now, in the downstairs area. The room is about 10' by 12', with a closet. You will share a bathroom with one other person.

Us:
We're a bunch of chill people in our late 20's/ to early 40's. We like to hang out with each other, and we'd like to hang out with you after you move in.

Greg is pretty awesome. He works as a software developer, collects new hobbies, has like 100 board games. He makes weird music, fabulous food and drinks.

Kelli likes people time and new adventures. She works in nonprofit. Kelli likes moving to other countries sometimes, good stories and dancing. She's definitely up for chatting, unless she just woke up.

Randy is super mellow. He likes asking quirky questions, and playing the piano. He’s a student now, but he wants to teach math someday.

Sophie is a really positive person! She's really into travel, volunteering, and going to see live theatre. You're always welcome to join her for yoga or meditation in her giant room!

Phil likes baking the most fabulous cookies on the planet. He currently works in education and is an amazing singer. He likes everything about Beyoncé, all kinds of games, and good wine.

Greg hosts a monthly gathering called Tiki Tuesday, where he makes fancy drinks for people and they come by and drink them. We like dinner parties, making several pots of coffee in the morning, and riveting conversations.

You:
We would like a roommate with the following attributes:

Desire to make positive contributions to a harmonious household -- We could get someone who just pays rent and is never home but we want someone who is fantastic and shares that with us

Open mindedness -- Gay, straight, bi, trans, black, white, brown, tall, short, fat, medium, we don't discriminate and neither do you.

Mutual Respect -- Respect for others and their boundaries is the minimum

Cleanliness -- Your room can be a mess, but please keep the common areas clean

Sociable/Interested in Interacting with Humans -- We'd really like a roommate who wants to talk to us and not hide from us. Let us hang out with you!

Responsibility -- You need to be aware that your actions or inaction affect the people around you and be responsible for what you do or don't do

Friendliness -- We want to have positive interactions with you and want you to have them with us!

Someone who pays bills on time -- This really goes under responsibility, but it's important enough to list twice

Pet free -- we have allergies to any animals with fur or feathers.

Someone who has a life -- If you aren't in some way interesting or engaging, then we are probably not compatible.

Conservative with the A/C -- We have the heat set to come on at 69, and the A/C at 78. It's part of being environmentally friendly and keeping the bills down.

Doesn't watch a lot of television -- Like many from our generation, we do not have a TV. *note that we DO have a projector for movie watching* Also, we've been known to get into shows together, and watch them on the projector as house-bonding

Non-smoker

Able to pay your deposit -- Which is the cost of the room.

Now, tell us about you! Seriously... Write something about yourself!!
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6881521690

posted:

updated:

best of [?]